Fruit flavored gum, an observation.

November 11, 2009 at 2:13 am (Uncategorized)

I weirdly have been spending a lot of time at Walmart lately (I keep running out of things!), and in all of my time in the check out line I’ve been stared down by the fruit flavored gum. All of those pretty packages staring back at me, begging me to stray from my beloved cinnamon trident and bite into layers of pineapple and green apple.

Being a sucker for packaging, I keep buying gum every time a package stares me down.

So far I’ve tried:

  1. a gum that is sour, then sweet
  2. a layered gum of pineapple and green apple
  3. a watermelon flavored cube with flavor “crystals”

And basically, they all sucked.

The sour, then sweet gum tasted like the bottom of a tennis shoe. The “sour” side basically tasted like I licked a tub of sugar free lemonade mix, and the “sweet” tasted like..well..shoe. I was highly dissapointed seeing as this company’s commercials make you think you could rule the world and bounce on giant pink bubbles after chewing this gum…I was not so fortunate, I did find a quarter and was the ruler of the remote for a while though…

The layered gum was by far the worst of them all, solely due to the smell. I think my purse smelled like pineapple explosion for at least a week (I can still smell it if I completely stick my head in my purse, but really when will I have to ever do that?). I should have known that pineapple and apple would not have been a good combination…and it wasn’t. This gum was given to a nice family on a farm..aka the little boys I babysit for (who loved it, strangely).

The last gum, and the most tolerable, was this watermelon one. The thing that got me was that it was in the shape of a cube. I’m a big fan of cubes (I guess) and so this one was intriguing just based on shape alone. This gum also tasted the least like a sour shoe, and actually like a watermelon. However, the gum’s taste lasted for so little that I ate the whole package in a day! So that one got a big “FAIL” also.

Basically, I’m sticking with my cinnamon trident, but really fruit flavored gum, get it together! I’d love to be able to waltz out of Walmart happily chewing, not gagging on fake fruit flavor! Next up is a pomegranate flavored gum, hopefully this one breaks the cycle.

…and yes, this is what my life has come to: getting excited about trying gum flavors.

Leave a Reply

